Irish Mountain
Running Association

Howth Winter

Forum Messages

AuthorDateMessage
ciaran kellyJan 11 2008, 11:28amhi,

I am new to this and hoping to attend and join on Sunday in Howth. Does the event go ahead rain or shine?

Thanks

ciaran
tom pJan 11 2008, 11:56amI never did this either and was thinking of trying it but was wondering :
Would the likes of asics 2120's do for Howth as i have never been in Howth let alone gone running up a hill there..--what kind of terrain is it?Surely it's a mud bath after the recent weather and it's probably waders i need instead?
Rene BorgJan 11 2008, 12:04pmHi guys,

You can run Howth in normal runners without killing yourself. Still trail shoes would be recommended especially in foul weather. But your normal runners should be fine if you're just out to try it.

The race will go ahead unless the conditions are so ridiculous they are dangerous, but even if that happened then you can be sure a lot will run it anyway (uninsured!), myself included.

We've run races in 10m visibility in the snow, or in hailing rainstorms, so it'll take a bit.
Justin ReaJan 11 2008, 2:07pmOne of the benefits of running on mountains is that the water tends to run off them. There are a few notable exceptions (like the ride in Ballinastoe!)

Normal runners are usually OK except for a technical descent. This is where mud, or scree, or other unstable footing makes the path tricky.

To be honest, your experience and technique makes much more of a difference than what kind of shoes you wear.

It would be fun to see you do Howth in waders though ;-)
Charlie O'ConnellJan 11 2008, 9:43pmFor what categories will there be overall League results and awards? Last year it was confined to Senior runners only. I thought this a bit unfair to the many Masters who participated.
Chris CareyJan 12 2008, 11:56amHow much is the entry fees for the races? Do you need to sign up for the league series or just individual races?

Thanks