Irish Mountain
Running Association

Crohaun

AuthorDateMessage
Michael MelnychukFeb 8 2018, 9:35pmHi there. I'm new to IMRA. Is Crohaun sold out? I can't find it in the 'purchase imra products' tab.
John J BarryFeb 8 2018, 10:53pmIt hasn't opened yet. It will be the week of the event when it opens.
Maria WhiteFeb 11 2018, 1:06pmThat’s good to know. I thought I had missed it.
How long on average does it take to complete ?
James MooreFeb 11 2018, 8:13pmHi there , is there going to be a kiddies race at crohaun on the 18th?
Eoghan MoloneyFeb 12 2018, 4:42pm@Maria Condon, main route is 6km with 300m climbing. I'm guessing that the fastest time will be somewhere around the 30 mins mark. It's hard to say what an average would be, as it's the first time the route has been used for a race.

@James Moore, yes there will. It will be a fairly challenging route for kids, but I think they will enjoy it! I ran it yesterday; it is 3.8km with 130m of climbing: https://www.strava.com/activities/1402913827
The initial climb is tough, mucky and wet (kids will love it!) and the remainder is on fireroad, so they won't have to run downhill on slippy terrain.
James MooreFeb 12 2018, 4:54pm@Eoghan moloney,thanks very much for the reply regarding the kiddies race.looking forward to Sunday.
Eoghan MoloneyFeb 16 2018, 9:38am@James Moore (and everyone else!!), just an FYI, we have reviewed the route that was planned for kids and deemed it too difficult for younger kids. So we will now have 2 shorter routes.

There will be a Kids route, which will be approx 1.5km on fireroad only. This is targeted at young kids, who will have to be accompanied by a parent. This will start at 10.30am, facilitating parents who want to run in the main race. There is no charge for kids (or accompanying parents) to run this route, although the kids MUST be IMRA members. Annual membership is only €5 and must be bought online in advance.