Irish Mountain
Running Association

Beginner Navigation Course

AuthorDateMessage
Ann HoranMar 28 2018, 8:13pmDoes anyone know is it possible to do a navigation course for complete beginners in Dublin/Wicklow area? I’m hoping there might be one happening in the next few months.
Jason DowlingMar 28 2018, 8:48pmHi Ann,

I done the Mountain Skills Training 1 course some time ago and found it both very enjoyable and gained a lot of knowledge from it. It was a very solid foundation to increasing my own confidence in going out alone in the mountains. A list of upcoming courses can be found at: https://www.mountaineering.ie/courses/

Hope that helps,
Jason.
Pól Ó MurchúMar 28 2018, 9:07pmIMRA have in the past run some of these course too with the help of Paul Nolan. We may run another if there was enough interest.
John J BarryMar 29 2018, 8:01amAnn,

I fully agree with Jason, the Mountain Skills 1 and 2 are a great start to get into navigation.

Once you learn the basics from the courses its important to get out and practise.

The book "Mountain Navigation" by Peter Cliff is also worth getting your hands on.
Stuart ScottMar 29 2018, 2:55pmHi Ann,

I'd highly recommend Declan Cunningham and Wayne Jenkins if you're looking to do a MS1 course. Both are excellent and the course will teach you a lot more than navigation so you'll really get your money's worth.

Paul's inhouse courses are also great.

However, the best way to learn navigation is to practice and no better way than to do some orienteering. Check out www.orienteering.ie!

Stuart
Andrew HanneyMar 29 2018, 3:31pmI did both beginners and advanced course with Paul Nolan and both were excellent. I’d recommend if you can get a few more people interested and give Paul a shout.
Mark RaleighMar 29 2018, 3:57pmI'd be interested in doing the beginners course.
Brian FureyMar 29 2018, 6:49pmI'd be on for this.
Ann HoranMar 29 2018, 7:31pmPól/Stuart