Irish Mountain
Running Association

Co. Kerry, new club formation

AuthorDateMessage
Conor McElroyOct 16 2021, 12:31pmIn the past year it has been wonderful to be a part of a community of mountain runners, which have been such a great source of inspiration for so many of us.

From getting out on the hills, highways and byways in Munster and across Ireland, whether through lockdowns, winter, summer, solo or group runs, the wider mountain running community has provided a rich source for mountain day dreaming and plans for the future .

In the Killarney area we have been very fortunate to see an increasing group of enthusiastic Mountain runners come together regularly from the absolute beginners through to the Ultra Experts.

At this point we would like to form Kerry's Newest Sports Club in Killarney.

Our initial focus will be solely on mountain running with a view to providing regular training and races to anyone who will sign up for membership regardless of age, sex or whatever their background is.

We would like to have piece of mind that we can invite the public at large to try our sport with the piece of mind that all members are appropriately insured / indemnified and can benefit from operating under the auspices of a larger governing body.

Not being certain of how to proceed, we would like to appeal to the wider community of athletics / hiking / mountaineering groups who may be able to offer a helpful steer in the right direction.

We are inspired by the amazing work which has been carried out, particularly, in the Munster area in recent years by the likes of Mooreabbey, Bilboa, Watergrasshill, Beara, Bweeng, many other ACs and of course MMRA, who mountain running and would be very glad of advice on how to follow in your footsteps.

Please let us know what you think - post here or email me: physioconorATgmail.com