Irish Mountain
Running Association

Newbie mountain runner query

AuthorDateMessage
Lisa O'ConnellMay 21 2012, 10:28pmHi,

I am an ordinary runner and I've never run on this kind of terrain before but am interested in trying it out. Living around 15k from Galway City and I'm wondering if there are any events coming up soon around this area or since I'm a newbie should I avoid official organised events and just take part in a regular group event first to get a feel for it?

All advice hugely appreciated.
Cheers.
Lisa
Dave KellyMay 23 2012, 6:13pmHi Lisa,

About 2-3 years ago I was in the same boat that you are now. I had done some road running and wanted to do some trail/mountain running. Based on my experience, I would suggest the following:

Start off in your local park running on woodland tracks to develop the specific muscles and fitness needed. Do this for a full season slowly working in more climbs and poorer terrain.

Try something like the Mourne Way 10k when you feel ready.

You can see from the events calendar where the IMRA races are - a lot of them are not too close to you. However, I did meet a guy a while ago based in the west who just picked out 4-5 races each year he really wanted to do and he just had to travel for them.

It is worth repeating that I think you need to develop muscles for trail running that you do not use so much in road running. So build it up slowly.

But definitely make the effort to crossover. Mountain/trail running way way better than road running.

Good luck,

Dave.
Justin ReaMay 24 2012, 9:57amJoin the Facebook Group <a href="http://www.facebook.com/groups/102676813190044/">Mountain and Hill running in Connaught</a> for some event info.