Irish Mountain
Running Association

IMRA Events registration

AuthorDateMessage
Alan O NeillOct 8 2014, 12:48pmHi,
I'm new to the mountain scene but don't know the craic with registering, entering events, annual membership, etc.
i'm hoping to do the Powerscourt Ridge run and wondering what the craic is. Do i just turn up on the day and register or pre-enter etc?
Thanks
Mick HanneyOct 8 2014, 9:16pmCheck out https://www.imra.ie/beginners/

If you are new to IMRA an event like Powerscourt Ridge wouldn't be the wisest 1st race. Probably best to wait until the winter league starts in the new year.
Mick HanneyOct 8 2014, 9:16pmCheck out https://www.imra.ie/beginners/

If you are new to IMRA an event like Powerscourt Ridge wouldn't be the wisest 1st race. Probably best to wait until the winter league starts in the new year.
Alan O NeillOct 8 2014, 10:30pmThanks for the reply Mick, is it unsuitable from a physical effort or a navigational, signage etc., perspective??. I've ran many a marathon and a few trail races and a little cross country over the last few years, looking for a new challenge =:-)
Maybe I'll just head up for a Recci.
What about run the line the week after? Rate that more suitable147???
Brendan LawlorOct 8 2014, 11:08pmAlan

Run the Line has a short course option which would be an excellent introduction to hill running for you. Powerscourt Ridge is not really a beginners race - its probably one of the toughest non championship races on the calendar.
Alan O NeillOct 8 2014, 11:38pmThanks Brendan, I'll certainly start there. would have thought that the short course there would be a very good introduction to the scene.
Paul O'GradyOct 8 2014, 11:41pmCome on lads - next you'll be telling him there's no Santa.

Alan, it's 15k on trail or very well worn mountain paths - and very well marked - and plenty of other runners about. If you can handle the distance you'll be grand!