Irish Mountain
Running Association

Running Gear

AuthorDateMessage
Phillip Thomas Edward SmithApr 21 2017, 8:46amHi,

I am pretty new to running and would like someone experienced opinions on what gear to buy.

I generally never really run more than 20km, but having joined your Strava group I cannot believe how far you guys run, so I may push myself more (time allowing).

First thing that I believe I need is a Jacket for racing. I overheat pretty quickly, even in the winter. Is there a specific brand that is good for this? (obviously being fitter would help the matter).

Secondly a running backpack just to put jacket, water, food bar and a torch in. The least annoying and sweaty one really

Shoes - I wear Salomon Speedcross, which are great for the boggy peak district wear I live, but are pretty slippy n damp rocks

Price - Don't mind too much

I realise there are lots of review sites out there, but I find recommendations better as you guys must have used them a lot.

Any comments appreciated
John J BarryApr 21 2017, 9:45amOn facebook there is a very big "Ultrarunning Community"

https://www.facebook.com/groups/259647654139161/

There is always questions and answers about running gear..
Gordon PlaceApr 21 2017, 11:24amAfter a year and trying a few bits.........

Jacket - I use the Inov-8 Stormshell. Tried a couple and all like plastic bags when you heat up, it's light, rolls up a bit bigger than a tennis ball and keeps me warm and the wind off for the inevitable walking sections/slower runs. It is waterproof but you soak with sweat anyway, but does keep you warm in the rain.
The OMM Kameleika jacket/smock seems a different material and gets good reviews, I bought the trousers thinking I might need them on longer runs but have never worn them once, even when it lashed so wouldn't bother again. Looking at the trousers, I can't imagine the jacket would be much better than the Inov-8 and if buying again, I'd get whatever was cheapest.