Irish Mountain
Running Association

A newbie!

AuthorDateMessage
David HarrisonJan 30 2018, 7:31pmHi folks, I’m just about to tackle the hills at running pace for the first time. It’s all new to me, just reaching out for some information on trail running gear. Is there a particular brand that you would recommend and what are the essentials? Any information would be greatly appreciated. Look forward to getting some miles in and meeting you all along the way.

Daithi
Conor MurphyJan 31 2018, 9:28amThe essentials are the running shoes, but big difference between those that might suit a sprint up and down a wet mountain and those that are better for 50km outings on dry trails. At this time of year, jacket is the next must have, again huge variety out there, some will take a jacket out at the first drizzle and run for hours in it, others will use sparingly. Maybe think of looking for taped seams.
Paul PageJan 31 2018, 10:02amHi David - I am a newbie myself but did a lot of research before trying it out. Innov-8 do a range of trail shoes that seem to be highly regarded. I got a pair of Innov-8 X Talon 212s online at a decent price and they seem to be pretty good so far.

A lot of trail runners seem to like the Salomon range of shoes. A light, windproof jacket is also a must. You can pay a lot of money for some of the top of the range jackets that are also waterproof.

If you intend doing serious ultra distances or longer distance mountain running, this might be something to look at. But for shorter races, you will pick up a perfectly adequate jacket for a reasonable price. Once it is breathable, windproof and lightweight it should do the job.
Pól Ó MurchúJan 31 2018, 10:44amSome good deals on both Innov8 and Salomon on Sports pursuit right now. If you’ve never used before you might use this link when signing up: https://www.sportpursuit.com/join/pol.omurchu2_5acf04 :-) Cracking site. I’ve bought a good bit of stuff on it over the years generally heavily discounted.