Irish Mountain
Running Association

Fraughen Rock Glen

Forum Messages

AuthorDateMessage
Gordon PlaceApr 4 2016, 5:19pmHi all, total beginner question here, are maps given out for weekend races? Or do you bring your own? If so, are there map references for particular races. Will start off on the Wednesday nights which I know are marked but just wondering say for the event above. Leinster events mainly.
Thanks
Gordon
Gareth LittleApr 4 2016, 5:34pmHi Gordon, welcome to IMRA. Maps are not given out except for the end of season navigation challenge races, of which there are three.

I would recommend you purchase the East/West maps as they cover all of Dublin/Wicklow and are very detailed and a compass too! Needless to say, these will be of little use if you do not know how to use them.

Hope this answers your question?

Thanks,

Gareth
Brian O MurchuApr 4 2016, 5:34pmHi Gordon,
The only maps given out are for the Nav Challenge races. Most (if not all) races will have maps on the event details page. The Killiney Relay is an excellent race to start off with, hope to see you there
Rachel CinnsealachApr 4 2016, 5:40pmHi Gordon, the maps of all the routes are on the website under the event. You can use these maps to see what the route it. I generally recce long routes before the race, so that I have an idea where I'm going on race day.
Gordon PlaceApr 4 2016, 8:34pmHi,
Thanks for the replies. Yes, saw the maps on the event pages, just wasn't sure if you'd need to get a load of maps or if a particular one or two cover most of the Leinster series areas. I'll check out the East/West ones, pick up a compass and figure out how to use them!
Thanks again. I'll try and get to Killiney but might start with Bray head. Just did the Bray cliff run and the Debra Wicklow Mountain half a few weeks ago and lost interest in the road!