Irish Mountain
Running Association

Powerscourt Ridge

Forum Messages

AuthorDateMessage
Paul LarkinsOct 7 2018, 10:05pmWhen is this event available for purchase ?
Lillian DeeganOct 11 2018, 12:19pmHi Paul,
Fire away, this one is now available for entry.

** Volunteers**
Thanks a mil to those who have popped in so far. Comms to follow nearing the date. With last years Route Race Marker in to repeat - all's gonna be fine and dandy on the course. Cheers Adrian ;)
Maria VlasakOct 11 2018, 1:04pmHi! Is there any navigation necessary for the Powerscourt Ridge race? I'll be in Dublin (from New York) that weekend, and although I have plenty of trail racing experience, I have ZERO nav experience. I'd love to do this race but don't want to end up wandering lost around the mountains for the rest of my life! Thanks!!! Maria
Lillian DeeganOct 11 2018, 1:25pm.
Hi Maria,
I would very much dislike having you trek about the WW hills for the rest of your life too, lovely and all as they are :) With trail experience as you note, you will be grand I reckon. This event usually has a head count of circa 150 runners in for the 16km route and it is not a tricky one Nav wise in my view. The race route will be fully marked with yellow/red fly tape and you are very likely to be in company most of the time even if you are racing top end.
Maria VlasakOct 11 2018, 2:00pmBrilliant! Thank you, Lillian. I'll register today... and see you in November! I'll be nowhere near the top end. :)
Paul BurchmoreOct 11 2018, 4:22pmAfter a 4.5 year absence from running due to injury I’m targeting Powerscourt for my return (no time goals, just grateful to be running again). I’ll register shortly but just wanted to get a view on footwear....trail shoe or fell?
Ian ConroyOct 11 2018, 4:46pmI'd say somewhere in between, as it's usually a slopfest off the tops but then after that it's a trail run all the way to the finish. It depends on the weather too - clear as mud? It may well be :)